Kano Sharia Commission gets new leadership

Kano Sharia Commission gets new leadership

The Kano State Government has given its approval for the Sharia Commission’s managerial appointments and the creation of a 20-member board.

The state Commissioner for Information, Malam Muhammad Garba, who disclosed this in a statement, said the approval followed the recommendation of a committee set up to review the activities of the Board to be in line with the provision of the state law.

According to The PUNCH, he said the committee’s report recommended the constitution of the board and was approved by the state Executive Council.

Garba stated that the membership of the board was carefully selected based on their individual capacities and competencies.

The commissioner disclosed that the Commission has Sheikh Muhammad Nasir Adam as the Executive Charman with Sheikh Jamilu Abubakar and Sheikh Abdulkadir A. Ramadan as commissioner I and commissioner II respectively.

He added that members of the newly constituted board of the commission have Sheikh Abdulwahab Abdallah as chairman; Sheikh Dr. Bashir Aliyu, Sheikh Dr. Umar Sani Fagge, Sheikh Dr. Ibrahim Maibushira, Uztaz Muhammad Al-bakar as members while Dr. Muhammad Tahar Adamu, the state commissioner for Religious Affairs, will serve as secretary of the board.

He explained that acting on the directive and cognizant of the provision of Article 6 of the law and the need to foster inclusiveness of relevant stakeholders in the state, the government also approved the appointment of part-time members for the Board

The part-time members are Sheikh Umar Sani Fagge, Sheikh Nazifi Al-Qarmawi, Sheikh Ibrahim Hassan Gawuna, Sheikh Abdullahi Maigari Daiba, Sheikh Sammani Yusif Makwarari, Sheikh Dr. Kamaluddeen Nama’aji and Sheikh Abubakar Yasayyadi.

Other members include Sheikh Muhammad Abdullahi Ameer, Sheikh Dr Sunusi Iguda K/Nassarawa, Sheikh Dr. Muslim Ibrahim, Uztaz Magaji Sani Zarewa, Uztaz Abdullahi Salisu Aikwa, Uztaz Dr. Bashir Ibrahim Fagge, representative of Ministry of Religious Affairs, representative of other Ministries, Departments and Agencies and the commission’s Director General.

The commissioner stated that all the appointments were aimed at promoting the development of Islamic, social and cultural values in the state.